Thank You to SMPS's Founders

By Ronald Worth, CAE, FSMPS, CPSM, AIC, FAIC posted 09-16-2013 15:02

Yesterday, the Headquarters staff and I had the privilege of breaking bread with SMPS co-founder and member #1 Andy Zinsmeyer and President Brad Thurman.

Andy contacted me several months ago and suggested the get-together to mark the 40th anniversary of SMPS's conception: September 14, 1973, during an AIA national convention in Kansas City.

In addition to being a co-founder, Andy served the Society as its first treasurer and its first executive director, from 1976–79, when SMPS was based in St. Louis. Over brunch, he told us stories about those early years. While I can’t do his stories justice, I can share this speech Andy made in 2008 when we celebrated the founders during SMPS's annual conference, which will give you a glimpse into that time in the organization’s history.

The Society has influenced the careers of thousands of marketers and business developers over its 40-year history, thanks to the dedication of extraordinary volunteer leaders like Andy and Brad. As we begin our 40th year, I want to again recognize those first five visionaries:

Member #1 Andrew Zinsmeyer
Member #2 Weld Coxe, Hon. AIA, FSMPS
Member #3 Lou Zickler, FSMPS
Member #4 Peter Moffett
Member #5 Janet Aubrey, FSMPS

And happy anniversary to every SMPS member! Together, we are SMPS.

I'm on my way to SMPS Omaha for a presentation. Looking forward to seeing everyone there!